Posted in Think Tank

Reading Reneé Ahdieh

 

I have a Instagram account dedicated to books (@pia_divergent_nerd). I check other book accounts every now and then, there are some books which are quite trending on Instagram and one of them was The Wrath and The Dawn by Reneé Ahdieh. I don’t want to be left behind when it comes to books. So I decided to read it along with The Literary Dragons Book Club (a goodreads group).

 

priya-bhowal-blogger-reviewer-pia_divergent_nerd-%e2%80%a2-instagram-photos-and-videos-clipular

First few pages took me some time to grasp. But as I got into the flow,  I went on and on. I had planned to finish it in one sitting but my dearest college wouldn’t allow me. But whenever I got a free time or if the teacher isn’t looking much at me,  I would read. The angst, the hatred, the love, the passion in all of it, kept holding to my attention. Reneé Ahdieh is a brilliant storyteller, the protagonist is a master storyteller too. The transition in the relationship between the two central characters, from a relationship of hatred to that of unconditional love and trust is beautiful. For the entire world, Khalid is evil incarnate but only Shazi felt that there must be some secret behind it. I really admire the protagonist Shazi, she can be fearless and there are times she feels scared. She can be strong as well as vulnerable. She can surpass all odds for her loved ones.

Khalid is an extremely angry young man. His shamshir speaks more than him. He can be tough as a stone. But love can make him melt and a sharp rebuke from someone he cares about, can bring him back to his senses. His character makes me firm on my belief that an individual becomes bad or evil for a reason, circumstances that drive them to a satanic path. I never felt my heart beating so fast that it might jut out of my flesh until I read The Wrath and the Dawn. The ending had loose ends, I wasn’t satisfied so the very next day started the next book in the duology The Rose and the Dagger. I enjoyed it thoroughly. The thrill was too good for my otherwise monotonous life. The loose ends were tied but I would still read on and on and on. This book had more of magical elements than the first one. The Harry Potter feels made my experience all the more better.

I just love Reneé Ahdieh now. Her books are hyped for a solid reason. And that’s solid storytelling.

Author:

Priya Bhowal is a Creative Content Writing Intern at Kaffeinated Konversations. She was born and brought up in a West Bengal small town named Siliguri. Currently she’s in her final year of Bachelor’s of Science in Chemistry, Zoology, Biotechnology (triple majors) from St. Joseph’s College, Bangalore. She lives, loves and breathes on novels, especially Fantasy, Romance and YA genres.

 

Author:

Intelligent Conversations, Unending coffee cups and totally in sync communication - When you feel free to converse, you feel limitless.

One thought on “Reading Reneé Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

