Posted in Experiences Around, The Immersive Project

My Worst Book Hangovers

Have you ever had an instance where you just could not get over a book? You will get so attached to the book and most often after finishing it you are so emotionally gripped that, you feel like taking up a new book is almost sinful.

 

Sometimes it’s the setting of the book that transports you to a different world, like Harry Potter, which will give you the hardest time to come back to reality. Other times it may be the story, something inspirational like Tuesdays with Morrie. And the worst kinds of hangovers are the ones that leave you depressed. I have had so many book hangovers, but let me tell you about those books that gave me the worst hangover ever.

P.S. I Love You

 

Those who have read this book will know how moving and emotional this book is. The author, Cecelia Ahern, has done a spectacular job in telling a story of moving on and learning to love again. This book deals with all the important things in a person’s life- love and letting go, friendship and family. The reader gets hooked to the story immediately.

71n1nzdbo4l

 

 

It tells the story of Holly and her husband Gerry. The book begins with Gerry’s death and soon after, Holly receives a bunch of letters written by Gerry before he died. These letters help Holly in dealing with her husband’s death and eventually teaches her to be happy again. The book had me at letters!

 

I read this book in high school and I can still remember how it took me almost a week to get over it. The story is so simple and real. I could immediately identify with Holly’s character. I have never lost someone who was really close to me, to death. I can only imagine what that could do to me and the mere thought of losing someone that important to me is absolutely horrific.

 

One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest

 

Let me warn you, this book is going to leave you in tears and you are going to be very emotionally hung over for days.  This classic novel written by Ken Kesey is just too good that I cannot even find words to describe it.

71m-ie5ezfl

 

Set in a Psychiatric hospital, it tells the story of McMurphy, an inmate there and is narrated by “Chief” Bromden (another inmate). McMurphy is the kind of character that you immediately fall in love with. Throughout the book, you get so attached to him- you laugh with him, vouch for him, cry for him; so much so that you need time to get over him.

 

The setting of the novel,  the various institutional practices that are highlighted and the ways in which human minds work, which is highly addressed in this book;  gives it an immediate melancholic air. It is that kind of a book where from the beginning you know that you won’t be getting over it anytime soon.

Me Before You

 

Probably the most discussed romance novel right now, especially due to the release of its movie adaptation last year, Me before You by Jojo Moyes is much deeper than any other typical romance novel out there, and far less clichéd.

91sjbn3jjal

 

It tells the story of Louisa Clerk who is hired to be the caretaker of a quadriplegic patient, Will Traynor. Lou is probably my favourite female fictional character right now, cause of how vibrant, charismatic and unique her persona is.

 

I just could not put down this book and I read it within a day and a half. The reason I was hung up on this book was mainly due to the very important questions raised by the book(other than the obvious distressing events in it): Is it okay to opt for assisted suicide if you absolutely can no longer get back the life that you once admired to the fullest? Will you be able to allow the love of your life to commit assisted suicide?

 

At first glance, you may feel like you know the answers to these questions as simple as a yes or a no. But when you really think about it, you will realise how very difficult these questions are. The book had me pondering over these questions for weeks.

Schindler’s List

 

Being more of a historical account, and due to the author’s immense efforts to keep fiction out of it as much as possible, this book is a hard read. Written by Thomas Keneally, it tells the true story of a German factory direktor, Oskar Schindler, who did everything he could to save as many Jews as he could during the holocaust.

914hfopuvwl

 

For so many reasons, I just could not get this book out of my head. The obvious one is the horrors this book tells you.  I obviously know about Hitler’s regime and what he did; there was even a chapter entirely on him in my high school history text book.  But I was absolutely not prepared for the horrific accounts as said by the Schindlerjuden-Schindler’s Jews through this book.

 

This book is so emotional, and not just cause of the atrocities that turn humanity into pure evil, but also cause of the goodness that prevails, (how much ever meagre it may be), amidst pure evil. I just read this book last month and as I finished the last pages I took a couple of minutes to digest all the information and to compose myself. I am sure that Schindler is going to stay in my mind for a long time.

The Time Traveller’s Wife

 

I know this is an unconventional kind of novel in the romance genre.  And I really am not a fan of books that have unrealistic love stories. But maybe it’s the sheer brilliance with which the author, Audrey Niffenegger, has told this impossible tale that this book has become one of my most favourite books of all time.

51gwneldhfl

It tells the story of Henry, a victim of a genetic disorder that makes him time travel unpredictably, and his wife Clare. Told in the perspective of both the protagonists, the book takes the reader through the much difficult life that the duo leads. And in spite of their impossible life, his unpredictable disappearances into a different time, and her numerous miscarriages; she sticks by him. Just the happenings of their day to day life is enough to tug at your heart strings.

 

You rarely come across a book, which upon reading the prologue alone you know immediately that you are going to fall in love with this book. This was one such book. I read it years back and even now, there are pangs of its hangover.

The Writer:

Reethu Ravi is Content Brewer Intern at Kaffeinated Konversations. She is pursuing BTech in Naval Architecture and Shipbuilding. An ardent reader and a passionate writer, she is also a self taught artist. Hailing from Kerala, her interests also include music, movies and series.

Author:

Intelligent Conversations, Unending coffee cups and totally in sync communication - When you feel free to converse, you feel limitless.

One thought on “My Worst Book Hangovers

Leave a Reply

