Posted in KK with Authors

Kaffeinated Konversations with M.V. Kasi

When it came to a chase, she chose to be a predator.

– Soulless

Shelly Bajwa from Kaffeinated Konversations takes a super quick interview of M.V. Kasi with great intensity.

  1. The inspiration behind the book.

I don’t really remember the inspiration behind Soulless. I just sat down to start a new book after I had completed That Same Old Love. Initially, it was to be a spin off for the A Match Made In Hell series. But once I had sketched Sia’s character for the same, I had to stop. I kept thinking about her for a very long time. I knew I couldn’t continue in the same vein as my first book. I couldn’t write Sia’s story as a Romantic-Comedy. It took me nearly 6 months to get inside her head and understand her. And once I did, I knew I had to give her a killer story along with an equally awesome complex hero who would complement her. It pushed me out of my comfort zone because I hadn’t actually met someone like Sia in my real life. Everything I learnt about her was through research. There was point when I became a little too obsessed with her character. 🙂

So ultimately, I can say that my inspiration to complete the book was my lead character, Sia.

14947909_257961467940086_4867945260933035578_n

  1. What comes first; characters, plot or the ending?

For me, it’s always the characters. Or rather a particular lead character. For example in my first story I knew I was going to choose a female lead who was a bully. And for my second book, I chose an addict as my female lead. And for my third book, my female lead was a workaholic.  When I have a clear picture of them as a person, and what their characteristics are, I begin to spin their story. I add the details of their background, their trials, how they became what they are, and ultimately how did they redeem themselves (if at all) at the end of the story.  And because I am a sucker for a happily-ever-after, the endings are always the same for all my stories. 🙂

 

  1. Advice to new authors or budding writers?

To all my fellow new authors—write what you want to write. And when you finish writing it, question everything you just wrote.

There are times when we tend to fall for what is currently trending or what we think people want to read. But when you write what you actually want to, and about the topics you are personally interested in, it shows in your writing. It might not appeal to the masses, but expect to get a few fan mails, that would let you know how the book was able to connect with those readers and how the story and characters felt real to them. They would thank you genuinely. And all those hours spent on writing, editing and sacrificing personal time would be well worth it. 🙂

 

  1. Is this the forte genre of the author or can we expect stories from different categories in the future?

For now, I’m sticking to contemporary romances set in India. I have a few more compelling characters that are waiting for me to write their story. 🙂 But yes, definitely expect me to write stories of different categories in the future. My personal favorite is Paranormal Romance.

When I began playing with the idea of writing a book (almost seven years ago), I had a paranormal story with heavy doses of Indian mythology in mind. I wrote a part of it and made several notes, but was never able to complete them. After I finish writing my other stories, hopefully I will have enough creativity and imagination to bring that world and the characters to life as well.

 

  1. Your inspiration and favourite writers!

My inspiration for my books is varied. I get inspired by real people and situations around me, or sometimes, I also get inspired by fictional characters or an interesting topic that had caught my attention for a long time. I only hope that I never run out of inspiration. 🙂

Out of the thousands of books I have read and enjoyed over the years, it wouldn’t be fair on my part to pick a favorite author. But one thing I can say is that lately, I have veered more towards Indie authors. I love how they don’t shy away from writing anything that is a taboo and they don’t have to follow any set guidelines to write a story.

Connect to MV Kasi on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mvkasi

Buy “Soulless”: Amazon

AUTHOR BIO:

MV Kasi works for a software company. Though the grilling job takes her time all day, at night she plunges into her curiosity to explore human complexities through psychological exploration through writing. Her fascination lies in observing successful people who are considered “weird”. Her extensive reading has led to her writing books with depth in characterization. She doesn’t wince in writing about sexuality or violence – subtly overlaying it with humourous tones. Currently she resides in Hyderabad, India with her husband and son. 

Author:

Intelligent Conversations, Unending coffee cups and totally in sync communication - When you feel free to converse, you feel limitless.

Leave a Reply

