Posted in Book Reviews

I See You *Book Review*

It is sometimes an appropriate response to reality to go insane.

Are you really sane or insane? What makes you think which extreme you belong to? How much of an insanity or reality can one handle? Is it just in mind as you and I think or it is beyond our way of explaining things and understanding of the world?

So many questions popped up in my mind when I read this novel “I See You” by Aindrila Roy. I think this is book has one of those rare mix of elements in the story wherein you experience a range of emotions like fear, disgust, frustration, anger, pain, sympathy and at the same time that dull ache to get the logical brain to answer the questions that are daunting the protagonist and also confronting the reader.

Having done my Masters in Clinical Psychology, I have always been fascinated by the realm of the other dimension, the other world as we think of and how that juxtaposes itself to what we consider “normal” and “real”.

The simple question that the book comes to is – What is reality?

The parameters of reality differ from person to person, so how can one be judge of what one is experiencing is true or false? What maybe extremely real – surreal – to me could be plain rubbish to another. Once again, this thought process affects relationships and how we react to people who find it difficult to accept what we say.

The end of the story got me to a very strange feeling of catatonic brain freeze for a few seconds as even the “Oh No!” too couldn’t materialize from my mouth. To that feeling the end can be aptly conjured up with the following quote:

“Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.”
― Albert Einstein

This book has led me to think a lot of the subjects of psychology, paranormal, relationships, individual differences, animal science, the scientific explanations of the beyond and more. I would recommend this book to not-weak hearted people who love to explore the fear aspects, psychology, and deviations from the normal. It’s a wonderfully developed book (I wish it wouldn’t end). Go ahead buy it from Pothi.com.

Author:

Intelligent Conversations, Unending coffee cups and totally in sync communication - When you feel free to converse, you feel limitless.

Leave a Reply

