Posted in KK with Authors

Kaffeinated Konversations with Jatin Kuberkar

When life comes to a screeching halt each time we encounter a bumpy experience, we tend to come close to each other or maybe move apart. This is what Jatin encountered with his colleagues to work everyday – so hilariously chronicled in his third novel that puts the reader in stitches at every page. Cabbing All the Way is not only fun read but also gets you directed to the human psyche in a group setting.

Kaffeinated Konversations requests you to put on your seatbelts while we speed off to the superhighway of Jatin Kuberkar‘s writing nostalgia with a few questions.

 

KK: Where are you from?

JK: I am from Telangana, India. born and brought up in Nizamabad town, but I am now based in Hyderabad.

KK: When and why did you begin writing?

JK: Writing comes naturally to me. Observation is my habit and all that I write/tell are based on real observations. As a Kid, I used to create a lot of imaginary stories about animals, plants and how they would transform into creatures etc.

It happened once in my school, I used to take part in essay writing contests all the time but, given my bad handwriting, no one read it…but that time, one of my teachers actually read it. He did not understand what I’ve written and so he called me up to read it for him. After he knew my thoughts, he complemented me: ‘you have the gift of writing’. That is all I remember and then I did not write for a long time.

Then, once at a birthday party, I was made in charge to look after a group of kids. I did not know how to control them and so, I started with a story.

It started with a magical house and ended inside an earthen pot! I was baffled at my own imagination! if that was for starters, another one happened in my college…boring lecture on civics made me peep through a window and there is found a gardener working in the blazing sun. he inspired me and I wrote a story about him. I read it to my friends, they liked it and may be that is how I ‘rediscovered’ writing.

 

KK: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

JK: That was in 2011. I saw a submission call for Chicken Soup series – ‘Indian Soul at work’

I submitted a story to them and the editor replied that they would love to have 2 more stories from me, and all my submissions were published. That was a strong push and I started taking writing seriously.

It’s not that I did not write before that; I used to document my observations under a private blog ‘From the streets of hyderabad’, which was later published by leadstart corp as ‘While I Was Waiting’ – in 2014, my first book.

 

KK: Your latest book ‘Cabbing All the Way’ is autobiographical to what extent?

JK: I will not be wrong if I say that every page in the book is ‘inspired’ by a real event. Yes, for the sake of presentably, I had to add a little fiction, but otherwise, It is completely ‘as happened’.

 

JK: I found ‘Cabbing All the Way’ an engrossing read. How difficult was it to keep up the tempo of the story?

JK: The story itself is fast paced. when I started writing it, I knew that I may have to add some local hyderabadi slang, some rubbish language for ‘Mohan’ etc.

What I like about reality fiction: you don’t have to worry so much about maintain the tempo, because you have seen it happening! all you need to do is, give it proper structure in form of words and paras.

Having said that, I wish to thank the editor of this book, Indrani Ganguly. She helped me to polish it and perfect it to the ‘T’.

(Read the review by Kaffeinated Konversations here)

KK: How did you come up with the title?

JK: It was spontaneous. It was there since the first draft…

 

KK: Who designed the covers?

JK: My dear friend and cartoonist Yogish Shettigar designed the cover cartoon. he is an ex-employee at our office and he knew all the people who came along with me in the cab. When I gave him the idea, he drew the cartoon with REAL faces on it…later I had it changed and only my face still remains…

14021572_10154064222079081_8871055522220760857_n

 

KK: Is there any expectation from the readers when they pick up your book?

JK: When reading ‘Cabbing All The Way’ I want them to relate to one of the characters in it and follow him throughout. That would make the book even more interesting. This way, they can be one of the members in the cab!

 

KK: What books have most influenced your life most?

JK: The list is long and ever growing.

As a kid, Chacha Chowdhary and diamond comics ruled my life. I used to read them like crazy. (I think that was a best time for kids when we did not have these touch/smart devices to swallow our free time.)

I like to read short stories over full length novels. And prefer reading more of Indian writings.

Short Stories by R.K Narayan and Ruskin bond are my all-time fav!

Sudha murthy’s ‘Wise and Otherwise’ – I like to gift this to people.

stories by Khushwant singh and ‘Train to Pakistan’ is one of my favs too…

Amish Tripathi’s Shiva trilogy,

I liked the premise and the point of view in ‘Asura, the tale of the vanquished’ by Anand Nneelakantan. This is what authors should try to do…show a different perspective, teach the world something different and new.

Paulo Coelho – ‘like a flowing river’ and ‘the alchemist’

J.K Rowlling- I particularly like her imagination about Hogwarts…some creatures connect to my childhood memories!

 

KK: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

JK: R.K Narayan; I read him like I am reading the Gita! I find so much nativity in his style and I like everything that is Indian.

 

KK: What book are you reading now?

JK: Right now, I am reading Midnight’s children, by Salman Rushdie.

 

KK: What are your current projects? Can you share a little of your current work with us?

JK: I am working on 2 books. I like to experiment with different genre, though my focus would be reality-fiction. That means, my work, could be called a fiction but it is reflection of something real!

I am almost done with the draft of a socio-fantasy novel.

The other one is still a 4 page concept and I consider it to be my life’s work!!

Apart from this, I keep writing short stories and stack them under various titles.

 

KK: Do you see writing as a career?

JK: I may take up writing full-time in a few years from now. that is for sure!

Money making through writing is certainly not my goal. My goal is to tell wonderful and relatable stories to people…

 

KK: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

JK: I think, for a writer, a book is never complete. each time I read it, I feel that I can write more here, or edit something there….you see, the greatest boon (and bane) for a writer, in my opinion, is his ever evolving POV.

KK: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in writing?

JK: Finding the time and the mood, and finding both of them in a moment of realization!

Juggling between my job and writing is a bit of a challenge too, but I brush it aside and call it ‘Mundane issue’!!! 🙂

 

KK: What’s your favorite part of the writing process and why?

JK: Nothing in particular. I like everything about writing because I am passionate about it!

 

KK: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

JK: I cannot think of any…it was smooth and thrilling.

But, finding a publisher was very tough. I thank Readomania for accepting it and publishing it.

 

KK: Who is your favourite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

JK: I don’t really pick a book by name of the Author… I read the blurb, a sample chapter and if I like it, I pick it up. I like Prem Chand and Harivansh Rai Bacchan in Hindi.

 

KK: Do you have any advice for other writers?

JK: Don’t be in a hurry to get published, don’t follow a trend, be different and write to express yourself.

 

KK: Being a Software Engineer, which skill did you find most relevant to the writer in you?

JK: Both are different. Jatin, the writer and Jatin as the Engineer are totally different persons with different skills. The writer may know the engineer, but this is not true with the engineer in me! 🙂

Connect to Jatin on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jatin.kuberker

Details about the Book “Cabbing All the Way”: https://www.facebook.com/Cabbing-All-The-Way-958150164255839/

AUTHOR BIO:

Jatin Kuberkar is a software engineer by day and a passionate writer by night. When not tangled in software codes, Jatin likes to express his inspirations in the form of poetry, short stories, novels and essays.

He lives in Hyderabad, and adorns polymorphic forms in his personal life as a son, a husband, a father, a friend, a mentor, an observer, a toymaker, a critic and the list goes on… He is an ardent lover of Hyderabadi biryani and is a worshipper of ‘Chaai’. If granted a boon, Jatin would love to learn magic from ‘Hogwards’ and fly around on a broom stick.

Jatin is the author of three books. Rainbow Dreams (poetry), While I Was Waiting and Cabbing All the Way.

Author:

Intelligent Conversations, Unending coffee cups and totally in sync communication - When you feel free to converse, you feel limitless.

Leave a Reply

