Posted in Book Reviews

18 via Teen *Review*

Let your dreams be bigger than your fears

Let your actions be louder than your words.

Jpeg
For Teenagers and Young Adults

Shreyasi Rhittika Phukon echoes this sentiment throughout her book 18 via Teen (Be Yourself) by Dream House Publications. Shreyasi hails from Jorhat, Assam and she has done a beautiful job of penning down a book for teenagers and young adults (and their parents/guardians too). I’m 34 years old and yet I picked up this book, did it affect my thought process?

Yes it did! Of course the unique situations that teenagers or young adults face is not applicable to me in a direct way but yes, I have teenagers around me in the family and I could relate the book to the way they were behaving. People say, but you were a teenager once! Yes, I was but this book was like refreshing my school and college days and bringing me back to understanding the perspectives of life that young people in that age group face.

Some of the stories have left imprint in my mind. While ‘Desk Friends’ is a poignant story of friendship beyond physical beauty, ‘Speak Dad Speak’ brought tears in my eyes. ‘Silence Within’ talks about Depression and its effects in teenagers and ‘Ultimate Freedom’ gave me goosebumps. Then there’s ‘The Psychology of Teen’ that most parents should read and it also reminds us of the movie Tare Zameen Par.

A good pick especially for age groups of 16 to 28 years and also their parents. It’s simple and not preachy but gives you a message in the story itself especially in the way each story ends.

You can buy it from Amazon

 

 

 

Author:

Intelligent Conversations, Unending coffee cups and totally in sync communication - When you feel free to converse, you feel limitless.

Leave a Reply

